The Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency is represented by a 11 member board elected on a rotating basis (four each year and three in the third year) by their peers (other sheep producers) for a three year term.
Board members annually elect a Chair and Vice-Chair from amongst themselves. Board members attend at least ten board meetings per year. In addition to board meetings, directors may sit on various internal and industry committees. The Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency is represented at organizations such as the Canadian Sheep Federation, Canadian Sheep Breeders' Association, Agricultural Adaptation Council, Ontario Agricultural Commodity Council, and others.

Board members participate in many agricultural and sheep industry events and must keep in close contact with District Committees and County Clubs in their regions.


As a requirement of the regulations, all producers of sheep and/or wool in Ontario are required to register with the Agency. Upon registration, the member receives a producer card and number and is then eligible to vote at district meetings.
The Province is divided geographically into eleven(11) electoral districts. Each district elects a Provincial Director to represent them on the Board for a three year term. Each district also elects a District Chairman, District Secretary and District Directors to administer the activities within the district.

Annual Convention and Business Meeting

The Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency's Annual Meeting is held each year in late fall. For every thirty (30) registered producers in a district, the district elects one (1) voting delegate to be in attendance at this annual meeting. He or she represents the district during voting procedures. All producers may attend and participate in the discussions.

Districts by Geography (Counties)

The Province of Ontario is divided geographically into eleven (11) electoral districts.

District 1
Counties of Essex, Kent, Lambton Middlesex, and Elgin.

District 2
Counties of Grey and Bruce.

District 3
Counties of Huron, Perth, Waterloo and Oxford.

District 4
County of Brant, Regional Municipalities of Hamilton-Wentworth, Haldimand- Norfolk and Niagara.

District 5
Counties of Wellington and Dufferin, and the Regional Municipalities of Halton and Peel.

District 6
County of Simcoe, District Municipality of Muskoka and the District of Parry Sound.

District 7
Metropolitan Toronto, Regional Municipalities of York and Durham, City of Kawartha Lakes, and Counties of Peterborough, Northumberland and Haliburton.

District 8
Counties of Lennox and Addington, Hastings, Prince Edward, Frontenac and Leeds.

District 9
Counties of Renfrew and Lanark, and the Township of West Carleton and the City of Kanata in the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton.

District 10
Counties of Russell, Prescott, Glengarry Stormont, Dundas and Grenville, and the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton except the Township of West Carleton and the City of Kanata.

District 11
Kenora, Rainy River, Thunder Bay, Cochrane, Algoma, Sudbury, Temiskaming, Nippising & Manitoulin.